intlstill.blogg.se

Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0
Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0









  1. #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 for mac
  2. #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 mac osx
  3. #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 mac os
  4. #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 install
  5. #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 upgrade

If you want a small footprint, high capacity, affordable external hard drive from an established name in the business, look no further than the affordable WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD.Ĭapacity (Formatted Apple Extended) - 999.7GB

wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0

Small enough to put in ones pocket the drive will also easily fit in even the smallest backpack, so it goes where you go. In addition the drive draws its power form the port abrogating the need for additional power outlets.įor those who might need a portable drive, the WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD will most surely fit the bill. The dual Firewire 800 ports means the drives can be chained together for more flexibility if the need arises. The small, black, nearly unobtrusive drive warrants serious consideration if you need to backup large quantities of files on a continual basis, or just want to supplement your computers' storage space.

wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0

The WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD is high capacity, reliable (thus far and I don't expect that to change), and transportable (if the need arises). Alternatively, you can right-click on My Computer, click on Manage and then click on Disk Manager. I have taken to assigning my CD-Rom's down to the bottom of the letter tree drive Y and Z are my favorites. If after installing or attaching the WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD and you get the message that new hardware has been found and is now available for use, but the drive is not assigned a drive letter, you must go to Control Panel /Administrative Tools/ Computer Manager/ Disk Manager, to manually assign the drive letter, or reassign the CD-ROM(s), an alternate drive letter. Note to Windows XP & 7 Users: be advised, that if you have an over abundance of mapped drives already on your computer, as I do, Windows 7/Vista/XP may not assign the HHD the next open drive letter this has happen to me on a number of occasions.

#Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 upgrade

There was an upgrade to Windows 95 that supports USB version 1.0, but it was released only to OEM vendors and in any case the WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD is not backwards compatible to USB version 1.0 or 1.1.

wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0

The drive may or may not work with Windows Me. Unfortunately, Windows 95/98 users will not be able to utilize this drive because the Windows 95 (OS) does not support USB, and Windows 98/SE has no native support for USB 2.0.

#Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 install

Note: there is not power cable! With the Mac there is nothing to install or configure the drive just showed up on my desktop ready for use with Apple Time Machine. I unpacked the neatly packed drive plugged in the Firewire 800 cable (included) into an available port while the desktop was on-line.

#Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 mac osx

I attached this drive to my Apple iMac 21.5" Desktop Computer desktop computer running Mac OSX Lion.

  • Up to 25,000 songs (uncompressed CD quality).
  • #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 mac os

    The 7200RPM 800 Mb/s 1.0TB My Passport drive connects via a Firewire 800 or USB 2.0 port and can be used with Mac OS X, Tiger, Leopard, and Snow Leopard as well as Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7.Īccording to Western Digital product literature the WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD can hold: A sleep mode reduces power during idle times, and a power-saving feature turns the drive on and off with your computer. Western Digital also includes a technology called the Power miser which utilizes the company's (trademarked) WD GreenPower Technology that lowers internal drive power consumption by up to 30%. If you touch the drive while it is being written to, you can feel it spinning, however it generates very little heat, and absolutely no discernible noise. The all-black with silver aluminum trim, 3.5" external hard drive has no moving parts the only way to tell if it's on is a small, very small, blue LED in the back of the unit which blinks when in power save mode. Note: the WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD can be formatted for Windows (NTFS or FAT32). And indeed that is the drives only function on my desk, to back-up my iMac.

    #Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0 for mac

    In addition the drive ships formatted for Mac HFS+ Journaled (Apple Extended) so that it is compatible with Mac's back-up software, Apple Time Machine right out of the box. "Compatible with Windows 7" software and devices carry Microsoft’s assurance that these products have passed tests for compatibility and reliability with 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 7.The plug-n-play, 10.9oz WD My Passport Studio 1TB External HHD is especially designed for an Apple Mac computer and is fitted with dual Firewire 800 ports as well as a mini-USB 2.0 port. Microsoft Windows XP, Microsoft Windows 7, Microsoft Windows Vista, Apple MacOS X 10.6, Apple MacOS X 10.5 Security lock slot (cable lock sold separately), password authentication, hardware encryption











    Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive usb 3.0